Call me Faggot by Elliot Wilde

Chicago Literati

Call me Faggot[1]

Bissinger, Buzz. “Introducing Caitlyn Jenner[2].” Vanity Fair. Condé Nast, 9 June 2015. Web. 11 June 2015.

Chin, Staceyann. The Other Side of Paradise[3]: A Memoir. New York: Scribner, 2009. Print.


[1] The first time I was ever called a faggot was in Primary School. I was the nice kid the weird kid, the smart kid, the queer kid. I didn’t know it then, of course. But everyone else seemed to know. I was outside, near the monkey gym, and a group of three or four male classmates approached me. Their leader said to me, “I dare you to lift up Patricia’s skirt.” I look to Patricia, a close friend of mine. We had met in kindergarten, she was a ballerina, and quite the artist. It was impossible to embarrass my closest friend, so I declined. “Faggot! JOTO!” They called me…

View original post 1,402 more words

Leave a Reply

