Character-driven blogging

Caracas Chronicles

LaureanoFor a change of pace, I’ve decided to use my column at Foreign Policy’s Transitions blog to focus on the people, on the Venezuelans that are making a difference, surviving, and suffering. My goal is to focus on a different character in each column.

This is not easy for somebody used to writing about politics and economics, commenting on news, and such. It requires a whole different set of writing muscles, and I’m not sure I’ve pulled it off yet.

Here is my first shot at this – a profile of my new friend Laureano Márquez. Constructive criticism is always welcome!

The value added is towards the end:

When I met Laureano in Austin, I asked him about the heavy undercurrent of anxiety in his comedy. “I’m deeply concerned about where our country is headed. It gets harder and harder to laugh about the situation. I was kidnapped when I was…

View original post 185 more words

Leave a Reply

