The Transformational Power of Love Keynote Speech

Vanessa Martir's Blog

I presented this keynote at on April 23, 2015 at the annual 100 Hispanic Women Mind, Body and Spirit Conference in Yankee Stadium. The theme this year was The Transformational Power of Love.

I’m a storyteller so today I’m going to tell you stories.

I’ve been struggling with this speech for weeks. I started it at least twenty times. I asked my friends “What’s love to you? How has it transformed you?” Most of them sent me sappy love poems and stories about romantic love, which is great but, honestly, that’s not what I was looking for. Last night I took my daughter out to eat. It’s the second day of the math statewide exams so I wanted to do something special for her, and, yes, it gave me reason to keep procrastinating on writing this. I asked her, “What’s love, baby girl?” She said, “Love is when you have…

View original post 3,570 more words

Leave a Reply

