My AWP 2015: Reflection No. 1

Vanessa Martir's Blog

awp2015

I’m sitting here thinking about AWP 2015 in Minneapolis. I could write about the magic that I experienced the first day. How I ran up on Roxane Gay as she was sitting at the PANK table in the book fair. I was at the VONA table when I saw her down the aisle. My eyes widened and I said, “Oh shit, Roxane Gay!” VONA fam followed, “like the Pied Piper” my VONA sis Tanuja said later. Roxane was talking to a young man, about what I don’t know. We waited. When the young man walked away, I said, “I’m sorry for rolling up on you like that.” She smirked and shook her head, “Nah, I love that.” I said, “Hi, I’m Vanessa, I met you in Brookyn a while back.” She looked at me and smiled this mischievous smile, “Oh, I know who you are—Vanessa Mártir.” She said my last…

View original post 2,054 more words

Leave a Reply

